Review #91 Their Frontier Family by Lyn Cote

I forgot a book I was in the middle of reading during one of my recent Writers In The Schools Visits.  I checked into the hotel and discovered this oversight before I headed off to supper with a friend.  Since I needed to pick up a few other items, I stopped at the nearby Walmart to check out the magazine section.  Compulsive readers can sometimes survive a reading craving that way.  Selection being what it was mid-month, I wandered over the the book section for something small and quick.

I thought I might make it through this whole year without a Harlequin fix.  Though this is not a book by that ever so famous publisher, Their Frontier Family does fit into the standard format, appearance and formula… except that it was both Historical and Religious!

I picked it up on a whim since I am still a bit of a Little House on the Prairie girl at heart.  Since sleep is sometimes hard to come by for me in any hotel, I decided to see if the story would  hold my attention.  Just after midnight, I had inhaled the book and was tired enough to sleep well until the morning.

Their Frontier Family deals with an unwed mother and former Saloon Girl who was taken in by a small Quaker community.  Sunny still feels as if many of the members blame her for the life she was born into and dreams of better for herself and her small daughter.  Noah Whitmore earned the wrath of his Quaker father when he chose to go off and fight in the Civil War.  Now he wants to start a new life in Wisconsin and offer Sunny a fresh start if she goes with him as his wife.  He proposes to the lonely woman even though he believes that the war destroyed his ability to love or feel joy again.

The story deals with how these two lonely souls find their way back to love with each other and forgiveness through God in a way that was tender and unique without being as pushy as some of the more fundamentalist Christian romance novels I have read in my life.  The plot felt a bit constrained by the length and format allowed in this type of story, but it was an enjoyable read that made a hotel stay bearable and added one more book to my challenge.

Their Frontier Family, paperback format, 279 pages, published in 2012  by  Love Inspired Stories

Leave a comment

Filed under Ok Read

Leave a Reply

